Skip to Content
2024 UMFK Athletics Hall of Fame
painting of Floyd "Red" Powell

The Floyd “Red” Powell Award

The Floyd “Red” Powell Award is a newly-created award that will be presented annually by the UMFK Athletic Hall of Fame Committee to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the development and/or enhancement of UMFK Athletics and its student-athletes for an extended period of time. The award is named for Floyd Powell, academic dean, director of athletics, and coach at the Madawaska Training School. Powell served as athletic director at the University for 21 years and coached basketball and baseball. His basketball team captured the University’s first state championship during the 1935-1936 season.

2023 Recipient: Derrick Cooper

Past Recipients

Note: An asterisk (*) after a name = Deceased

  • 2022: Susan Tardie
  • 2020: Wilda Kelly
  • 2018: Terence Kelly
  • 2017: Donald Raymond
  • 2016: Ronald Guy*
  • 2015: Dr. R. Paul Johnson*
  • 2014: James Harvey

Partners & Sponsors